City of Oneonta

Home > City > Government > Common Council

The City of Oneonta Common Council

Meet Our Council Members

Meeting Minutes


Contact Information

For specific contact information see the city directory.

New Ward boundaries went into effect on June 1, 2014.  Until new Council members are elected and sworn into office from each of the new wards, the current sitting Council members for each ward shall continue to represent the citizens of that ward.  View the Ward Map.

Legislative Authority

Legislative power of the City of Oneonta is vested in the Common Council, which enacts laws and manages and controls the finances and property of the City. The Council, presided by the Mayor, consists of eight (8) Council Members. Each Council Member represents the ward in which they reside for a four year term. As of January 1, 1976, the wards were increased from six to eight and ward lines were redrawn. The Mayor is elected for a four year term.

Common Council Organization/Meeting Time

Meetings are held the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 p.m. The Common Council meets in its chambers, located on the second floor of City Hall, 258 Main Street. The proceedings are recorded and minutes are later produced and made available for public inspection at the City Clerk's Office and on this webpage. Information on agenda items may be obtained from the City Clerk prior to Common Council meetings. All regular meetings of the Council are open to the public.

Coffee with Council

Join Common Council members for coffee at the Main Street Creamery, 254 Main Street, on Tuesday mornings at 8:00 AM.

Research into areas covered by the Council is performed by informal, non-codified standing committees and task forces. The Mayor annually appoints a chair and generally two other members to each committee. Each committee provides the full Council with a report at the regular Council meeting. The task forces established by the Mayor will be temporary and have very defined duties. Each standing committee and task force is listed below.

Community Development Committee

Finance/Human Resources Committee

Legislative Committee

Operations, Planning and Evaluation Committee